Jump to content


Recommended Posts



Steven Gerrard is the only non-Manchester United player to be shortlisted for this season’s PFA Player of the Year.


Nemanja Vidic is the man who has been most widely tipped for the gong for much of the campaign but the Serbia defender now faces competition from four of his team-mates.


Central defensive partner Rio Ferdinand and keeper Edwin van der Sar, both of whom were integral to United’s 11 league games without conceding a goal, are also included.


The evergreen Ryan Giggs, who has drawn lofty praise for his displays in the centre of midfield, is joined by last season’s winner Cristiano Ronaldo, who remains joint-top scorer in The Premier League despite not hitting the same heights as last campaign.


United also contribute two of the nominees for this season’s Young Player of the Year award in Jonny Evans, an able deputy to both Ferdinand and Vidic, and young Brazilian full back Rafael.


Aston Villa’s English duo of Ashley Young and Gabriel Agbonlahor are joined by Manchester City’s Stephen Ireland and Tottenham’s Aaron Lennon in the running for the gong won by last year.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Create New...