Jump to content

Tranmere Rovers goalkeeper scores


Guest Kev
 Share

Recommended Posts

Gavin Ward takes and indirect free-kick in his own half and kicks it towards the Orient goal. The wind carries it and it bounces over the Orient's keeper's head and in his attempt to save it he tips it into the net.

 

Now I think it has to go down as an own goal as if the Orient goalkeeper had not of touched it the 'goal' would not have stood as you cannot score from an indirect free-kick.

 

Yet the rules state that if a shot is on target and gets deflect into the net, then it's given to the attacking team.

 

Thoughts ?

 

On a side note, in my refereeing days I've actually given a goal from a throw-in that caused all kinds of arguements. The ball was heading into the net direct from a throw-in, yet the keeper decided to try and save it and only punched it into the net. The defending team and management were incensed and said you cannot score direct from a throw-in, I agreed with them but as the keeper had touched it into the net the ball was in-play.

 

If only keepers knew the rules then none of the above would have mattered :D

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...