By fans, for fans. By fans, for fans. By fans, for fans.

Thailand

RP

An extended family holiday is apparently being planned for Christmas 2014 - that's a holiday for the extended family, not an extended holiday for the family.

Anyway ... Far East is the suggested meeting point and Thailand appears to be favourite at the moment.

I know it's been discussed on here plenty of times, but I really can't be arsed to trawl through the drivel. Anyone got any serious recommendations for location/resort/hotel?

Looking for something luxurious but reasonable in terms of cost - 'good value' is the aim. Need excellent food, beaches etc.

Any thoughts?? Only name thrown into the mix so far has been Ko Phi Phi ... but I have no knowledge of it whatsoever.

Koh Samui is a crap hole.

Phi Phi, Phuket and Krabi are better.

Langkawi kicks the s*** out of all them for a family break - better food, more choice of beaches and stuff to do, better value, and most importantly less t***s who have read the Beach and are trying to re-live it. Can fly direct there too on Malaysian Airlines.

There's s***loads of resorts but also some decent smaller hotels too.

If it's beaches you're after then I would recommend Koh Lanta, some very good places on the west side of the island. I stayed at the one below not long ago after a short stay at another hotel closer to town. Will take you approx 2 hours to travel from Krabi airport.

http://www.pimalai.com/

Plenty of other decent resorts on Koh Lanta too if you're looking for something a bit more budget-friendly.

Can also recommend some decent places on Samet etc to on the northern side (moobantalay spa resort is very nice but a bit more secluded).

Personally I would avoid phi phi, really not worth the bother even the boat trips around to maya bay etc now are a hassle.

Phi Phi, Phuket and Krabi are better.