Jump to content
By fans, for fans. By fans, for fans. By fans, for fans.

Player of the Season


Recommended Posts

Hello everyone.


Most will know me. I am a visitor to quite a few LFC sites and have been the custodian of the Player of the Season game for 9 years now. The game has spanned many different sites in its time; currently the voters come from YNWA, Est1892, 6CM, Scouser Tommy, TLW and IrishKop. I am hoping that adding more voters from other sites will give a more accurate picture of our feelings as Liverpool supporters. This year the posters from The bOOTroom.org will join our family.


I am hoping that you will all play a part in this 10th year to enable us to get a picture of our players' performances and to crown a worthy winner come May 2014.


Previous winners:


2005 Jamie Carragher

2006 Steven Gerrard

2007 Dirk Kuyt

2008 Javier Mascherano

2009 Xabi Alonso

2010 Javier Mascherano

2011 Steven Gerrard

2012 Luis Suarez

2013 Luis Suarez


This season, the format will be as follows:

Instead of voting for a single player as your Man of the match, you vote for your top 3. This enables a "steady Eddie" like Allen or Agger to get his mentions and gain some points. Points are the same as last year; the top player gets 5 points, the second player gets 3 and the third player gets a single point.

I will award a bonus half point if our Goalkeeper keeps a clean sheet.


All competitive games are counted, CC, FA, Europa/Champions League :angry: and, of course, Premier League matches.


I shall post current league tables so that we can follow the players' performances throughout the season.


If a moderator could ensure a "sticky" when I post a Man of the Match thread, I would be grateful; also it would be nice if I could have a sticky league table thread for the game throughout the season.


Thanks for your support in this.

Getting 7 different Liverpool sites to vote throughout a whole season gives a good indication of the fans' feelings on players.

I look forward to collection and calculating the results throughout the season.





Link to comment
Share on other sites

Jesus Morse, just noticed you have only 136 posts. You must spend all your time doing the game. I'll have a guess that Coutinho will win it next year with Mignolet 2nd and Gerrard 3rd. Think Toure will do well as well in the voting.

I hope Mignolet is nowhere near the top 3!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Create New...