By fans, for fans. By fans, for fans. By fans, for fans.

Jon Brookes

Conrad

I used to be a big fan of the Charlatans when I was a student, early-mid 90s. Saw them at Blackpool on a Daytripper gig with Ride in 1993, one of the best gigs I've ever been to. Thought they lost their way soon after that and should have called it a day when the keyboard player went off the road, literally.

They've had more than their fair share of tragedy. Good drummer John Brookes. Him and Rob Collins were the whole basis of their sound really. RIP, 44 is no age.

Edited by Heighway 61 Revisited

I used to be a big fan of the Charlatans when I was a student, early-mid 90s. Saw them at Blackpool on a Daytripper gig with Ride in 1993, one of the best gigs I've ever been to. Thought they lost their way soon after that and should have called it a day when the keyboard player went off the road, literally.

They've had more than their fair share of tragedy. Good drummer John Brookes. Him and Rob Collins were the whole basis of their sound really. RIP, 44 is no age.

Kind of agree with this, 'Tellin Stories' was the last great album they released, it was downhill from there (despite the amazing 'Forever') and by the time 'Wonderland' was released I think it was over.

I first saw them in 1995 the week they released 'The Charlatans' and it went to number one. It still remains the best gig Ive ever been to, the fact they came on for a second encore after a large part of the crowd has dispersed made it even better. They played 'Time for Livin' to a half empty Apollo and it was f***ing brilliant. I saw them at least once a year after that right up until 'Wonderland' and Tims bizarre falsetto vocals.

I dont think Ive ever seen a better drummer than Jon Brookes, really sad he's gone.

RIP

Kind of agree with this, 'Tellin Stories' was the last great album they released, it was downhill from there (despite the amazing 'Forever') and by the time 'Wonderland' was released I think it was over.