By fans, for fans. By fans, for fans. By fans, for fans.

HDMI Cables

muleskinner

Whats the best to get? Keep reading differing opinions, from cheap is fine to you must spend 70 quid or you aren't doing your telly justice.

Whats the hive mind got to say?

Anyone who says you need to spend £70 on an HDMI lead is a cretin.

Buy a cheap, well-made HDMI lead. Simple as.

Such as? I want names Gerry, brands n s***.

OK, I'll give an example. I've bought this stuff before and they're well made (the pure HDMI leads).

I think if you're planning to go 3D you need a higher spec lead though - 1.4a rather than 1.3 (which is what the above are). See here.

Edited by Gerry

Why would you buy gold plated ones?

If you have a look all of the supposed expensive better ones are gold plated Inc the bog standard ps3 ones on sale at GAME etc. I am no expert but there must be a reason for it? Perhaps a question for AV Forums

If you have a look all of the supposed expensive better ones are gold plated Inc the bog standard ps3 ones on sale at GAME etc. I am no expert but there must be a reason for it? Perhaps a question for AV Forums

I suspect the expensive ones are not better at all. I.e the reason for it is to milk people's money.

The material used back in the days of analogue AV-transfer might have had an effect (gold plating etc) but those properties are of no use any more

For short lengths of cables it doesn't really matter, if you are talking about 10-15m you need to think about spending a bit more. You really cant go wrong with the Ikuna cables I linked earlier, Im using 4 of them on my kit and I cant fault them at all, they even look good.

My understanding is that HDMI cables only carry digital data, i.e. 1s and 0s, so, as Bo Benn says, the cable either works or it doesn't. You can't have a good quality 1 or a poorer quality 0.

Definitely go for HDMI 1.4a as you don't want to have to upgrade later on...