Sign in to follow this  
Senrab_nhoj

Forum Advice: Guitar/amp for daughter

OK so my daughter has set her heart on a hollow body guitar after guilting me about not having any financial reward system for her GCSE's (did very well so I think I may actually be in credit post guitar)

however I have no idea in this area. She's a beginner but has played self taught ukulele for a few years. I've set her a budget of  £175-200 for the guitar and then we can add a cheap amp on top. 

So she has come up with this so need some feedback :) Note we have prior with musical instruments being energetically pursued then dropped so this should factor into the options. I think this will be different as she is taking music at 'A' level and the flute has been magically found :)

Go see guitar John (or maybe Jean as he’s Belgian) on Aigburth Rd

You won’t miss it as there’s a helpful sign outside his shop saying ‘guitars’

It’s more or less opposite McDonald’s

I’d rather place myself at the mercy of a guitar lover who will sell you what you want second hand and isn’t really interested in making a lot of money and will fix it up as and when at the right price as time goes on

Of course he might not have the right thing for you but he can probably get it

And you can talk to him about all the options and feel confident before you dive in

For that money I'd go second hand if possible. You'll get an better and easier guitar for her to learn to play on which will keep her enthusiasm up. Would probably suggest going for an a acoustic in the first instance as well then you can add the amp money to the guitar fund.

Buying second hand also means if she gets bored in 6 months you get your money back

She needs to be jamming with mates ASAP not sitting in her room learning Greensleves on an acoustic

That’s the key to keep it it up and enjoying it