Jump to content
By fans, for fans. By fans, for fans. By fans, for fans.

You're the Ref


brouhaha

Recommended Posts

Can anyone explain this one? Is it because the linesman was running on the pitch, or is it just a strange footballing rule?

 

http://news.bbc.co.u...and/9214099.stm

 

If the linesman was on the pitch or prevented the ball from fully leaving the pitch, then it's still in play. In this instance the linesman is equivalent to a goal post or the corner flag. Therefore when Kenny Miller then dinks the ball out of play (in his mind he's taking it back over for the throw in) that's when the ball is put out of play and a throw in is awarded.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If the linesman was on the pitch or prevented the ball from fully leaving the pitch, then it's still in play. In this instance the linesman is equivalent to a goal post or the corner flag. Therefore when Kenny Miller then dinks the ball out of play (in his mind he's taking it back over for the throw in) that's when the ball is put out of play and a throw in is awarded.

correct

 

I think there was a very similar one posed in the Guardian's You Are the Ref series about a month ago. Ultimately the lino shouldn't be that near the field of play when the ball's near him - to avoid this happeneing

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If the linesman was on the pitch or prevented the ball from fully leaving the pitch, then it's still in play. In this instance the linesman is equivalent to a goal post or the corner flag. Therefore when Kenny Miller then dinks the ball out of play (in his mind he's taking it back over for the throw in) that's when the ball is put out of play and a throw in is awarded.

 

Thanks, makes sense, just a bit confusing when the commentator said the ball did go out of play. Not out of play enough it would seem

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If the linesman was on the pitch or prevented the ball from fully leaving the pitch, then it's still in play. In this instance the linesman is equivalent to a goal post or the corner flag. Therefore when Kenny Miller then dinks the ball out of play (in his mind he's taking it back over for the throw in) that's when the ball is put out of play and a throw in is awarded.

Did you notice that the lino didn't give the throw in. He waited for the ref to let him know before he put the flag up. He didn't have a clue

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Strike, strike strike!!!!!!!

 

Toys oot the pram.

 

excellent solution from when saturday comes:

 

The Scottish Football Association's plans to cope with the impending referees' strike have been hampered by officials from various countries refusing to fill in. But there is a group of people with firmly held views on refereeing who would surely be ready to help out. So let's see Chris Kamara, Andy Gray, Jamie Redknapp and Mark Lawrenson step into the breach.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...